Reappointment of the Convener and Members of the Board

    7 June 2021, General

    The Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Veterans, Keith Brown MSP, today announced the reappointment of David Crawford as the Convener of the Board of the Risk Management Authority (RMA). The Cabinet Secretary also announced the reappointment of Dr Aileen Burnett, Jane Davey and Terry Powell as Members of the Board.

    David Crawford (Convener)

    David Crawford is a qualified social worker and worked in local authority social work in Scotland for more than 30 years.  He was the Director of Social Work for Renfrewshire Council from 2001 to 2007 and then the Executive Director of Social Care Services with Glasgow City Council until his retirement from local government in 2012.  Mr Crawford has an extensive background in criminal justice work including five years as manager of the social work service in Barlinnie Prison and was a member of the Maclean Committee which recommended the setting up of the RMA.

    Dr Aileen Burnett

    Dr Aileen Burnett is a Consultant Forensic Clinical Psychologist with over ten years’ experience of working with mentally disordered offenders.  She has extensive experience of offering direct expertise in the assessment, management and treatment of personality disordered offenders.  Dr Burnett also has a special interest in the needs of children and young people who present a risk of harm to others.

    Jane Davey

    Jane Davey is a solicitor advocate and principal litigation solicitor for Highland Council.  She has extensive experience of conducting cases in courts and tribunals.  She has been involved in drafting procedures and providing training in relation to criminal justice, mental health, adults with incapacity, housing, education, child protection and adoption.  Ms Davey provides legal advice and representation in relation to data protection, equality, diversity and human rights and has a particular interest in risk assessment and risk management of offenders.

    Terry Powell

    Terry Powell was a member of Lothian and Borders Police, joining in 1980.  During his police career he undertook a wide range of responsibilities, including senior investigating officer, the planning and command of high profile events and divisional commander for East Lothian and Midlothian.  Since retiring in 2010, Mr Powell he has been a member for the Parole Board for Scotland with responsibility for assessing the risk of offenders and making decisions regarding their release into the community on licence.  He has a wide range of experience in public protection and promoting community safety in Scotland.

    The reappointments are regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.

    Mark McSherry, RMA Chief Executive, commented:

    “We are delighted that our current Board members will be continuing with us as we shape our future direction.”

    Length of Term, Remuneration and Time Commitment

    Mr Crawford and Mr Powell have been reappointed for two years from 1 April 2021 until 31 March 2023.  Dr Burnett and Ms Davey have been reappointed for four years from 1 April 2021 until 31 March 2025.

    The Convener receives of £235.00 per day for a time commitment of 25 days per year.  Members receive a fee of £220.75 per day for a time commitment of up to 15 days per year.

    Other Ministerial Appointments

    Mr Crawford, Dr Burnett, Ms Davey and Mr Powell do not hold any other Ministerial appointments.

    Political Activity

    All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public.

    Mr Crawford, Dr Burnett, Ms Davey and Mr Powell have had no political activity within the last five years.

    Password Reset
    Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.