New Board Members appointed

    4 July 2013, Archive

    We are pleased to announce the appointment of Chris Hawkes, Stephen Swan and Elizabeth Carmichael to the Risk Management Authority Board.

    Chris Hawkes was the chief officer for the Lothian & Borders Community Justice Authority. For over 40 years, Chris has worked in a variety of jurisdictions specialising in the management of offenders. Fundamental to his work is the belief that communities are safer when offenders both in custody and the community are managed properly.

    Stephen Swan served for 20 years with the Scottish Prison Service. Roles include Governor of Penninghame, Cornton Vale, Greenock and Perth prisons, Deputy Director Prisons and latterly as Director, Human Resources. He has also for a number of years been a board member and trustee of the charity Families Outside. He brings over 30 years public service experience in criminal justice and law enforcement, and extensive experience of offender management policy and practice.

    Elizabeth Carmichael was a civil servant in the Scottish Government/Scottish Executive with policy responsibility for criminal justice social work, drug and youth courts, setting up the Multi-Agency Public Protection Arrangements (MAPPA) and victims’ matters. During this time, she was also responsible for implementing the recommendations from the Expert Panel on Sex Offending’s report, “Reducing the Risk”. In 2006 she was awarded the CBE. Since then, she has gained experience as a non-executive director on the Scottish Social Services Council, the Scottish Court Service Board and is currently deputy chair of SACRO.

    The appointments will be for five years. Chris Hawkes’ appointment will run from 27 May 2013 to 26 May 2018, Stephen Swan’s appointment will run from 1 September 2013 to 31 August 2018 and Elizabeth Carmichael’s appointment will run from 1 December 2013 to 30 November 2018.

    The appointments are part-time and attract a remuneration of £5,880 per annum for a time commitment of 2 to 3 days per month.

    These appointments are regulated by the Public Appointments Commissioner for Scotland.

    Elizabeth Carmichael is a Member of the Scottish Social Services Council for which she receives remuneration of £8221.80 per annum. Chris Hawkes is a Member of Parole Board For Scotland for which he receives remuneration of £195 per day. Stephen Swan does not hold any other public appointments.

    All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process.  However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees’ political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public. Chris Hawkes, Stephen Swan and Elizabeth Carmichael have had no political activity in the last 5 years.

    Password Reset
    Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.